Uncategorized

18th March 2016 – Guest Post by Rosa Temple, author of Natalie’s Getting Married

imageI am extremely pleased to introduce this lovely guest post on all things wedding by one of my favourite chick lit authors Rosa Temple, author of Natalie’s Getting Married, I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I did!

Inspiration to Write Natalie’s Getting Married
By Rosa Temple


As strange as it may seen, when the character of Natalie first popped into my head, her getting married was one of the last things I envisioned her doing. I knew from the start I wanted to write a romantic comedy and I wanted to write a heroine who could appeal to lots of women, mostly because they could relate to her.


Straight away that told me that, like the rest of us, Natalie has got to make mistakes and she mustn’t be perfect – who is? But I wanted her to have the likeability factor. I wanted readers to want to be her friend and be there for her through all her ups and downs and give her a jolly good shaking when she was so obviously messing up.


I guess the idea of setting her in the context of getting married made her decision making that much more important to the reader; getting married, or not, is one of the biggest things we’ll ever do in life.
Originally I intended for this book to be a series of novellas that looked at the various aspects of Natalie’s life and came up with series titles like: The Gap Year and Natalie in Paris. (If you read the book, though, you’ll know she never ends up in Paris, but LA instead).


So once I got my character in my head and the various characters that would support her, I did what I usually do – get my notebook and pen and start writing. Today I looked at the early drafts and saw how differently the book could have gone. As I continued to write I got swept away to the point of no return and so consumed by what was happening with Natalie that the story was unfolding before me without me planning it and the inspiration to keep going came from a need for me to know what happened next.


So I guess it was Natalie herself, and her supporting cast that inspired the story. I just listened to them and tapped away on my laptop.
In the end the story was a three part novella series that I sent out to lots of beta readers so I could get honest feedback. I was pleasantly surprised by the response – beta readers loved the story, they related to Natalie and fell in love with one particular character (I also love him).
I put it to the beta readers that I might just make one novel out of the three part series and they all agreed. Thus, Natalie’s Getting Married was born.


Some early readers have commented that they can’t wait for the sequel. I don’t have one planned. I think Natalie’s whirlwind of a life has worn me out – and that’s before I even got any wedding cake!


My Top 5 Wedding Locations – in no particular order 🙂


1. Many of you will know that I’m a big fan of old movies and musicals, a la Fred Astaire & Ginger Rogers and Audrey Hepburn. I have this picture in mind of Audrey Hepburn starring in Funny Face with Fred Astaire, in a scene where they push off on a raft that floats along a beautiful river with blossoming trees and flowers on either bank and they are dancing on the raft. Well, imagine a massive floating raft carrying all your wedding guests along that river, the bride in the wedding dress Audrey wears in the film and no one gets sea sick, and the raft stops by the river bed where there is dancing and a big cake. A bit out there, I know, but definitely one I’d consider if my hubby ever wanted to renew our vows!


2. The next one was not only a dream, but a reality – a Caribbean wedding just like the one I had on the island of Dominica. (Not to be confused with the Dominican Republic.) If you don’t know Dominica, look it up and get married there. You won’t regret it.


3. I like the idea of a themed wedding, something that shows the personality of the bride and groom. For example, having your guests hike to the top of a mountain if you are an explorer or underwater if you love to swim. Guaranteed to cut down the number of guests if you want to keep it small!


4. Another wedding destination would be Westminster Abbey. Yes, you guessed it – a royal wedding, along with millions of spectators from all around the world, cameras following your every move and the a killer dress to make everyone jealous.


5. Lastly – and going the complete opposite to the above – how about returning to the place your man first proposed (provided it’s legal and isn’t for adult viewers only). For me that would be the Italian restaurant my husband and I had our first date. Not long after that, he proposed to me there. How suitable would the place you first decided to get married be for the wedding itself?


And there you have it – my top 5 places to have a wedding. What are yours?

About Rosa Temple

Rosa Temple began writing romantic comedies and chick lit because of her passion for what she calls the ‘early chick lit films’, like: Sabrina, Barefoot In the Park and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. She honed her skills as a ghost writer, gaining experience writing romantic novellas, both sweet and on the slightly steamy side. In her notebooks, she constantly jotted down story ideas of her own and she eventually completed her first novella Sleeping With Your Best Friend and now, the full length novel, Natalie’s Getting Married.

Rosa Temple is a Londoner and is married with two sons. She is a reluctant keep fit fanatic and doer of housework and insists that writing keeps her away from such strenuous tasks. She spends her days creating characters and story lines while drinking herbal tea and eating chocolate biscuits.

To find out more about Rosa and to catch up on all her musings please join her here on http://rosatemplewrites.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “18th March 2016 – Guest Post by Rosa Temple, author of Natalie’s Getting Married

Leave a Reply

